Mike McCracken

Lived in Tuscaloosa, AL

Blues Guitar Johnny Shines, Kokomo Blues Band

Source: Alabama Music Hall of Fame

Mike McCracken

I was interested in photography at an early age. In high school I worked for the school newspaper, literary magazine, and yearbook. After high school went to hike the Appalachian Trail in Maine. I ended up staying there for a year or so. I came back home and went to school and majored in Photography at UNA. I worked for the Florence Times-Tri Cities Daily full-time as a photographer for two years while going to school. I transferred to the University of Alabama and took photography courses with Gay Burke and some graphic design courses with Richard Brough. I also worked as a photographer for the Tuscaloosa news for several years.

I started a band called the Kokomo Blues band which lasted around 20 years and played a lot around the state and the Southeast. I met bluesman Johnny Shines who suggested that we do some music together.I spent a lot of time working with Johnny to help him overcome the stroke which made it hard for him to play as well as he had in the past. We played together as an acoustic duo, and also in electric form. The Kokomo blues Band backed him for 9 years. We played with Johnny at the Chukker when he played the last gig he ever did. I loved to go fishing with him and listen to his stories about traveling with Robert Johnson and his adventures during the great depression. He always spoke of the need for a place for some of the older blues people to be able to come and retire. A "Blues Heaven" where there was a stage, and homes, and a fishing lake for them etc.