Funk-Rock Group Birmingham, AL

Source: Alabama Music Hall of Fame

The nucleus of the modern rock sextet Vallejo is the three brothers A.J. Vallejo (vocals, lead guitar), Alejandro Vallejo (drums), and Omar Vallejo (bass). Raised in El Campo, TX and Birmingham, AL, they formed the Vallejo Brothers in 1990, later adding guitarist Bruce Castleberry and changing the band name to Vallejo. Moving to Austin, TX in 1995, they signed to TVT Records, which released Shining Sun in 1996 and Beautiful Life in 1998. Meanwhile, the band expanded to included percussionist James "Diego" Simmons and guitarist Heath Clark. In the winter of 1999, they signed to Emilio Estefan's Crescent Moon label, distributed by Epic Records. They won as best rock band in Austin's 2000 Music Awards. Their third album, Into the New, released in August 2000, coincided with a national tour. Their trek across southwest America continued throughout the close of 2002. ~ William Ruhlmann, Rovi

A.J. Vallejo – Lead Vocals & Guitar
Omar Vallejo – Bass, Vocals
Alejandro Vallejo – Drums
Bruce Castleberry – Guitar, Vocals
Alex Geismar – Percussion, Vocals

A melting pot of infectious swaggering rock laced with Latin percussion and fiery live performances has made VALLEJO one of the most popular bands to hail from Austin, Texas.

vallejoRaised in the small town of El Campo, Texas on their parent’s LP collection of Tito Puente, Santana & Tijuana Brass, VALLEJO was first formed by the three Vallejo brothers A.J. (Vocals, Guitar), Alejandro (Drums), and Omar (Bass). Learning music by playing trumpet in the high school marching band and jamming to friend’s mixtapes of classic rock and funk, the brothers eventually migrated to picking up the guitar, bass and drums to create something that was instantly recognizable on the airwaves as their own.

Since then, VALLEJO has racked up fans one by one with thousands of high energy shows and a growing catalog of album releases including Sins (Chapel Lane), Shining Sun, Beautiful Life (TVT Records), Into the New (Epic Records) with famed Latin music producer Emilio Estefan Jr. (Miami Sound Machine), Stereo, Leftovers, Steamboat Live & Black Sky on the Vallejo brother’s own label VMG (Vallejo Music Group). In 2009, VALLEJO released their critically acclaimed album, Thicker Than Water (VMG/Quadra) and recently took home the award for “Best Rock Band” at the Texas Latin Music Awards.

VALLEJO has toured extensively throughout the United States and Mexico sharing the stage with bands like Stone Temple Pilots, Fuel, 3 Doors Down, Juanes, Molotov, Black Crowes, The Foo Fighters, Matchbox 20, Shinedown & Los Lobos. The band has also had their songs featured in several TV shows such as HBO’s True Blood, ABC’s The Unusuals, WB’s Roswell, MTV’s Road Rules and UPN’s America’s Next Top Model.

In 2012, VALLEJO is back with their first new album in four years entitled Brothers Brew and set to be released on Tuesday, August 21st. Written, recorded & produced by the Vallejo brothers, the CD will feature ten new songs recorded at VMG Studios in South Austin, Texas. Featuring the first single & video for the mid-tempo groover “Waiting On You”, bombastic opening track “Free” and album closer “Nothing To Lose” – Vallejo’s new CD Brothers Brew proves that for this band of brothers – the rhythm is undeniably still in the blood.

Source: Official Website






iTunes: Vallejo

Amazon: Vallejo

Vallejo: Brothers Brew
Vallejo: Thicker Than Water
Vallejo: Steamboat Live
Vallejo: Black Sky
Vallejo: Sins - EP
Vallejo: Acousta
Vallejo: Leftovers

Subscribe to Newsletter

Rick Carter Radio - All Alabama Music

Accepting submissions and adding them daily. Artists can send their songs in MP3's to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. One song per email. Graphics and song and artist info should be included of course.

This space
for rent!

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.